What you don’t know about raising a baby boy!

 

joey1The beautiful and magical day when you give birth to a little boy, your life changes forever. Being a boy mom, you get to witness a plethora of experiences that no one has ever told you about. Not even boy moms.

IMG_20191108_074638

Whether you already have a daughter, or this baby boy is your first child, surely, raising baby boys gives you a very different insight on how the mind of a boy (later a man) works!

As for my case, the only boy in my family I knew of was my maternal cousin. Yes, we are all sisters, closely bonded who happily grew with dressing up dolls and playing with our mom’s make up. While I love my cousin brother to bits, there wasn’t much I knew about boys till I was handed over my own little man – Joey.

As you can see, I was always skeptical on raising boys, even scared of them. They are known to be more notorious, more energetic and not as delicate as baby girls. But oh boy! Was I wrong!

IMG_20190904_172102

There was no one to guide me on raising boys, taking care of their special needs, cleaning them up, potty training and the scary boy toys! So, I knew I have to figure it on my own with some guidance of my baby daddy who knew just as much as I did.

But you see, being a parent of a baby boy gives you strength, a weird understanding of unconditional love and some great memories to cherish as you watch your little boy grow into a toddler, then a kid and eventually a young adult.

joey4

So, if you are a boy mommy, here are somethings you probably would like to know about raising baby boys:

  1. A baby boy’s diaper is harder to change

Duh uh! It is surely not easy dealing with an ever moving wiggly baby boy when it is time to diaper change. Even when they are new-borns, it is a task to be mastered. Whether it is peeing on you with their little private parts reaching up in the air to poop that gets stuck, I was surprised how easy it was to change the diaper of my little baby girl.

  1. They are faster to climb

 

IMG-20191202-WA0010No matter how old your boy is, they learn to move and climb faster than girls. They have an amusing knack of finding new ways to get their body moving long before they start walking on their own feet or even learn to crawl. Yes, so better keep an eye on that little boy. I remember how my little boy used to climb out of his walker much before he could stand himself. And no, they are not scared of such accidents, in fact it is fun for them.

  1. You will learn to embrace the gross

joey3

You see, what I have discovered in three years of raising my boy, is that they have an innate fascination with anything gross. They will find their private parts and yank on it like it is a new toy and make you cringe when they start chasing ants. No one ever told me how much grossness I will embrace when it comes to raising this piece of my heart.

  1. You might want to have a muscle relaxant at hand

IMG-20200220-WA0008

You see, these boys are energetic and always mobile. They love you in a whole lot of different ways. They will climb on you, pinch your nose and jump on your back to show you how happy they are to have a new toy. So, always be ready to be punched at the wrong places or kicked in your ribs because they love you so much.

  1. They love hard

IMG_20200216_141746

Yes, I saved the best one for the last. These boys love hard. You will see that you baby boy is more of a doer than talker. They may not talk as soon as baby girls do, but they are much more expressive when it comes to show their love for the mommies. I found that Joey, my baby boy showed his love for me soon before he started talking in a way that Rianna did not. He wanted to be a part of my daily life as soon as he was mobile. This means you have a permanent attachment when they become toddlers and will not leave you alone for long. But this also means they will climb on you as soon as they are tired for a nap or simply want to some and snuggle you up. And it only gets better, they will come out of nowhere and give you warm hugs and smother your face with kisses and tell you they missed you while you were working in the other room. It is sure to give you so much joy that you will feel your heart may just explode.

IMG-20200318-WA0046

Now these are just a couple of things that no one ever told me about raising boys and I thought you will appreciate knowing. There are so many new things I am falling in love with that I never could have imagined a couple of years back. Finding joy in being gross to loving Spiderman and fighting like Hulk.

Raising a baby boy will surely open your eyes to a whole new world and you are going to enjoy each moment of it!


Leave a comment